Norma Jean headline a 2013 tour in support of their Wrongdoers LP with Vanna, KEN Mode, and Exotic Animal Petting Zoo.

11-23-13 at the Assembly in Sacramento, CA

Norma Jean

About Norma Jean

Norma Jean, formerly known as Luti-Kriss, formed in 1997 in Douglasville, Georgia, a suburb of Atlanta. The American metalcore band has gone through numerous lineup changes, leaving it with no original members. Despite this, the band has released nine studio albums and received a Grammy Award nomination in 2006 for Best Recording Package for its second album O’ God, the Aftermath. The band’s name is inspired by actress Marilyn Monroe’s real name.

Luti-Kriss formed with Josh Scogin on vocals, Scottie Henry and Chris Day on guitar, Josh Swofford on bass, Mick Bailey on turntables, and Daniel Davison on drums. In 1999, they released a split EP with Travail through Pluto Records. Later, the songs from the split were released on 5ep, which showcased an aggressive nu metal and rap metal style. After the release of 5ep, Swofford left the band and was replaced by Josh Doolittle. Moreover, Bailey left during the production of the debut album Throwing Myself.

In 2009, Norma Jean announced that they were leaving their longtime label Solid State and signing with independent label Razor & Tie. In 2016, they announced the release of the first single, “1,000,000 Watts,” off their new album, Polar Similar. Additionally, the band released “Synthetic Sun” later that month and then “Forever Hurtling Towards Andromeda,” which features Sean Ingram of Coalesce. Before the album’s release, the band introduced their newest member, rhythm guitarist Phillip Farris, who replaced Chris Day. In addition, Clayton Holyoak and John Finnegan have also left the band over the years.

In 2019, Norma Jean released the single “Children of the Dead” for streaming with a music video. Moreover. on May 25, 2019, the band announced that they had parted ways with guitarist Jeff Hickey. The band released their eighth album, All Hail, on October 25, 2019, and announced their ninth album, Deathrattle Sing for Me, on June 6, 2022, with the first single, “Call for the Blood,” released as a music video on June 16.

About Vanna

Vanna, a hardcore punk band from Boston formed in 2004. The band played their final show at the Worcester Palladium on December 15, 2017. The band’s sound evolved over time, incorporating elements of screamo, metalcore, post-hardcore, emo, and melodic metalcore.

In 2020, five of the original members, Nicholas, Brandon, Shawn, Evan, and Chris, announced that they had formed a new band called INSPIRIT. Furthermore, Nicholas Lambert stated that the band aimed to recreate the sound they had in 2006, but with better production and execution.

Sophukd interviews Cory from Norma Jean


XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>