Live video of Testament and Prong on a 2012 tour. Also on the bill were local favorites White Minorities and Gary Busey Amber Alert.

February 17th, 2012 at the Ace of Spades


About Testament

The members of Testament, an American thrash metal band from Berkeley, California, formed the group in 1983 under the name Legacy. The band’s current lineup comprises rhythm guitarist Eric Peterson, lead vocalist Chuck Billy, lead guitarist Alex Skolnick, bassist Steve Di Giorgio, and drummer Dave Lombardo. Although the band has undergone numerous lineup changes over the years, Peterson is the only remaining original member. However, Skolnick, one of the band’s songwriters, has since rejoined the band.

Billy replaced original singer Steve “Zetro” Souza in 1986 and has been a member of Testament ever since. He and Peterson are the only members to appear on all of the band’s studio albums.

Testament is often referred to as one of the “big six” of the 1980s Bay Area thrash metal scene, along with Exodus, Death Angel, Lååz Rockit, Forbidden, and Vio-lence. Moreover, they are also considered one of the leaders of the second wave of the genre in the late 1980s and one of the “big eight” of thrash metal, along with Metallica, Megadeth, Slayer, Anthrax, Exodus, Overkill, and Death Angel. Additionally, the band has sold over 1.4 million albums in the United States and over 14 million copies worldwide. Moreover, Testament has released thirteen studio albums, four live albums, five compilation albums, twelve singles, and three DVDs.

About Prong

Tommy Victor fronts Prong, an American heavy metal band that formed in New York City in 1986. Victor is the sole constant member of the band. Prong has released 12 studio albums (including a covers album), one live album, four EPs, one DVD, and one remix album.

Prong released two independent albums, Primitive Origins (1987) and Force Fed (1989), which drew the attention of Epic Records. Epic signed the band in 1989. Beg to Differ (1990) and Prove You Wrong (1991), Prong’s first two albums on Epic, were released to critical acclaim and received attention on MTV’s Headbangers Ball. The band’s 1994 album, Cleansing, was also successful and included the well-known song “Snap Your Fingers, Snap Your Neck.” After releasing one more album (Rude Awakening in 1996), Prong disbanded in 1997. However, they reformed in 2002 and have continued to tour and record since then.


XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>