Story of the Year headlined the Scream It Like You Mean It 2013 tour, performing their Page Avenue album in its entirety. The tour also included Like Moths To Flames, Hawthorne Heights, Capture The Crown, Set It Off, and I Am King.

October 17th, 2013 at the Ace of Spades

Story Of The Year
Like Moths To Flames

About Story Of The Year

Story of the Year is an American rock band that formed in 1995. The band consists of vocalist Dan Marsala, guitarists Ryan Phillips and Philip Sneed, bassist Adam Russell, and drummer Josh Wills. They are known for their high-energy performances, catchy hooks, and emotionally charged lyrics.

Throughout their career, Story of the Year has released several albums and singles that have received critical acclaim and commercial success. Their debut album, “Page Avenue,” released in 2003, features hit songs like “Until the Day I Die” and “Anthem of Our Dying Day.” The album reached gold status in the United States and earned the band a dedicated fan base.

In addition to their musical achievements, Story of the Year has also been involved in various charitable endeavors, including supporting the American Red Cross and the Make-A-Wish Foundation.

In January 2022, the organizers of the When We Were Young festival announced that Story of the Year, along with over 60 other emo bands including My Chemical Romance and Paramore, would be joining the lineup. On August 24, the band themselves announced that they had signed with SharpTone Records and released a new single, “Real Life,” as well as a new set of tour dates alongside Hawthorne Heights and Escape the Fate. Additionally, in October, they announced that the title of their sixth album would be Tear Me to Pieces and released a music video for the title track. The album is tentatively set to be released on March 10, 2023.

About Like Moths To Flames

Like Moths to Flames is a metalcore band from Columbus, Ohio, formed in 2010 by former members of various bands, including Emarosa, Agraceful, the Crimson Armada, and My Ticket Home. To date they’ve released four studio albums and three EPs via Rise Records. Moreover, the band currently subsists with a lineup of Chris Roetter, Jeremy Smith, and Zach Pishney.

In October 2021, the band announced a five-track EP, “Pure Like Porcelain,” set for release on November 5, 2021. Subsequently, they released the second single “Views from Halfway Down” one week before the EP release.

On January 25, 2023, the band released a statement that Aaron Evans was no longer a member due to allegations of sexual misconduct and mental abuse. Roetter is the only remaining original member in the band.

Capture The Crown
Hawthorne Heights

About Capture The Crown

Capture the Crown is an Australian metalcore band formed in 2010 after the breakup of another metalcore band, Atlanta Takes State. They gained popularity with their original name after releasing the music video for “You Call That a Knife? This Is a Knife!” on YouTube in 2011. In 2012, they were signed to Sumerian Records, but were dropped a year later. They have released two studio albums, “Til Death” (2012) and “Reign of Terror” (2014), and an EP, “Live Life” (2014).

About Hawthorne Heights

Hawthorne Heights is an American rock band that formed in 2001. The band consists of vocalist and guitarist JT Woodruff, guitarist Mark McMillon, bassist Chris Popadak, and drummer Matt Ridenour. They are known for their emotionally charged lyrics, intricate guitar work, and blend of post-hardcore and emo influences.

Throughout their career, Hawthorne Heights has released several albums and singles that have garnered critical acclaim and commercial success. Their debut album, “The Silence in Black and White,” released in 2004, features hit songs like “Ohio Is for Lovers” and “Niki FM.” The album reached platinum status in the United States and earned the band a dedicated fan base.

On November 24, 2007, the band found their rhythm guitarist, Casey Calvert, dead on their tour bus. Toxicology and autopsy reports later revealed that Calvert had died from combined drug intoxication. The band had just begun their American tour the day before in Detroit, Michigan. Later they issued a statement saying that Calvert had died in his sleep. Afterwards, they spent several days mourning, reflecting, and writing a song about Calvert’s death. Eventually the song became “Four Become One” on their album Fragile Future. Moreover, they also dedicated another song to Calvert called “Sugar in the Engine,” with JT Woodruff speaking about Calvert at the end of the song. Mark McMillon is now the current unclean vocalist for the band. Calvert was only 26 years old at the time of his death.

While on their first post-pandemic tour with Bayside and Senses Fail, the band released their seventh full-length album, “The Rain Just Follows Me.” “Constant Dread,” the album’s lead single, features guest vocals by Brendan Murphy, the frontman of Counterparts.

Story of the Year ~ Interview


XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>