Between the Buried and Me 2013 tour where they played the The Parallax parts one and two. Also on the tour were the Faceless, the Contortionist, and the Safety Fire.

October 1st, 2013 at the Ace of Spades

Between The Buried And Me
The Faceless

About Between The Buried And Me

In 2000, the members Tommy Giles Rogers Jr., Paul Waggoner, and Nick Fletcher formed Between The Buried And Me (BTBAM). The group came together in Raleigh, NC after their previous metalcore bands, “From Here On” and “Prayer for Cleansing,” disbanded. Jason King later joined on bass. Additionally, the band’s name came from a line in the Counting Crows song “Ghost Train.”

Their first release was a demo with three songs. The three songs were later re-recorded for their 2002 self-titled album, and released through Lifeforce Records. “Aspirations” was the first video from the album. The video was slow to catch on but it caught the attention of Victory Records who re-released it in 2004.

After shifting from Victory Records to Metal Blade in 2011, BTBAM released their first extended play “The Parallax: Hypersleep Dialogues,” followed by the full-length album “The Parallax II: Future Sequence.” Moreover, the band released the album “Colors II” in August 2021, a sequel to 2007’s “Colors.” The band currently consists of Rogers (vocals, keyboards), Waggoner (guitar, backing vocals), Dustie Waring (guitar), Dan Briggs (bass, keyboards), and Blake Richardson (drums).

About The Faceless

The Faceless is an American technical death metal band that was formed in Encino, California in 2004 by guitarist Michael Keene and bassist Brandon Giffin. Over the years, the band has undergone several lineup changes.

On July 24th, 2022, Keene came under fire for arriving on-stage at a concert 45 minutes late and appearing to be inebriated. He began to rant about having a neurological disorder, but touring member Aaron Stechauner intervened and got Keene off stage. To keep the crowd entertained, Stechauner performed alone on drums for a time before the band eventually performed two hours after the set was scheduled.

Despite this incident, The Faceless continued to move forward. On July 25th, 2022, the band announced that James Dorton of Black Crown Initiate had joined them as their new lead vocalist.

The Faceless has released several albums over the years, including their debut album “Akeldama” in 2006, “Planetary Duality” in 2008, “Autotheism” in 2012, and “In Becoming a Ghost” in 2017.

The Contortionist

About The Contortionist

The members of The Contortionist formed an American progressive metal band in Indianapolis, Indiana in 2007. Michael Lessard (vocals), Robby Baca (guitar), Cameron Maynard (guitar), Jordan Eberhardt (bass), and Joey Baca (drums) currently comprise the band’s lineup.

The band’s fusion of progressive metal, ambient music, and an emphasis on atmospheric and experimental elements, characterizes The Contortionist’s music. Additionally, the band’s lyrics often explore themes of spirituality, personal growth, and self-discovery.

The band released their debut EP, “Apparition,” in 2009, followed by their first full-length album, “Exoplanet,” in 2010. Subsequently, the album helped establish The Contortionist as a rising star in the progressive metal scene.

Over the years, The Contortionist has undergone several lineup changes, with Lessard joining the band as the lead vocalist in 2013. In 2017, the band released their fourth album, “Clairvoyant.” “Clairvoyant” marked a departure from their previous sound, incorporating elements of electronic music and softer, more melodic passages.

The Contortionist has toured extensively, performing with notable acts such as Between the Buried and Me, Periphery, and Protest the Hero. The band has gained a dedicated following in the progressive metal scene and is known for their dynamic and engaging live performances.


XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>