Tuesday night in Sacramento. A perfect night to watch Incite together with two local bands, A Perfect Nightmare and Manzanita Death March at Goldfield’s downtown on J Street, but before it would all begin, I needed to have a few quick words with Richie Cavalera, the vocalist and driving force of Incite.

richie cavaleraRichie let me know that he was glad to be touring the West Coast even after Jungle Rot had to drop off the tour due to unforeseen circumstances, and that his band was really happy to be playing the songs off their most recent release, Wake Up Dead. I asked him what it was like recording War Soup (off of Wake Up Dead) with his father, Max Cavalera of Soulfly and Sepultura fame. He said that it was “very special for all of us.”

When asked about the overall theme of the album, Richie stated that it had a lot to do with the pandemic and its frustrations, indicating that it was just a reflection of his life at that time. So I asked him how he feels about the current situation of the world, and he said that he thought things were getting better and even though there’s a lot of “shit that keeps happening,” he said that he thinks “it’s fixable.” He says he wants to keep doing what they are doing, bringing “a little bit of positivity into what’s happening rather than just shutting everything down” and that he thinks “there’s always hope for us.”

Next, I asked him which was his favorite concert that he has ever played, and he said it was when he played in Mexico City: “...we played this festival with Jinger and Phil and the Illegals, you know, really cool bands, and that was literally March 16th, 2020. That was probably the last show on the planet, you know, and hanging out with all the bands and the crew, ...contemplating what the future is going to be” (Because of the pandemic).incite wake up dead goldfields 9 20 22s

When asked about guitar player Mike D’s absence on the tour, Richie said it sucked but that he was “helping out some big-time legends that we can’t talk about right now... we understand that it’s something you can’t turn down. You have to do it.” Of replacement guitarist, Layne Richardson (Becomes Astral), Richie called him a “badass,” and after watching him live, I would have to agree.

As far as future tours, Richie said it will be “much more extensive. Up to Canada, the East Coast, down south, really excited for that and then we’ll be back, probably about March for a tour with Heathen.... pretty fucking excited about just being on the road again.” I agree Richie. After seeing you live, I can’t wait for the next time you hit up the West Coast. For fans of sick Metal music, you should be too. Watch the entire set below:

Rock Hard Live had the pleasure of going to see Stick To Your Guns on September 1st at Goldfields in Roseville. The bill also included Foreign Hands, Koyo, Belmont, and Kublai Khan. It was a packed house and every band slayed.

Kublai Khan really brought the hardcore intensity, and the crowd was totally fired up. You can see the full set below:

The headliner, Stick To Your Guns, recently put out a new release, Spectre, via New Noise Records, so it wasn’t surprising that they opened with their latest smash single, Weapon. The song electrified the crowd, and the band fed off the energy, cranking out with brutal ferocity all their humanistic, pro-working-class hits as well as some more new songs from Spectre. Watch the video below:

goldfields stick to your guns 9 2 22

stick to your guns flyer



Ohio quartet The Plot In You — Landon Tewers [vocals], Josh Childress [guitar], Ethan Yoder [bass], and Michael Cooper [drums] — will embark on a headline North American tour this fall.

The tour kicks off on November 2 in Denver and will run through December 3 in Minneapolis. Support will come from Silent Planet, Avoid, and Cane Hill. All dates are below.

Tickets go on sale on Friday, August 19 at 10am local time. Get tickets at https://theplotinyou.com/ .


  • 11/2 — Denver, CO — Oriental Theater
  • 11/3 — Salt Lake City, UT — The Complex
  • 11/5 — Roseville, CA — Goldfields
  • 11/6 — Pomona, CA — Glasshouse
  • 11/8 — Mesa, AZ — Nile Theater
  • 11/10 — Dallas, TX — South Side Music Hall
  • 11/11 — Houston, TX — Warehouse Live
  • 11/13 — San Antonio, TX — Rock Box
  • 11/15 — Tampa, FL — Orpheum
  • 11/16 — Atlanta, GA — Masquerade (Heaven)
  • 11/18 — Greensboro, NC — Blind Tiger
  • 11/19 — Baltimore, MD — Baltimore Soundstage
  • 11/20 — Philadelphia, PA — TLA
  • 11/22 — New York, NY — Gramercy Theater
  • 11/23 — Boston, MA — Paradise
  • 11/24 — Toronto, ON — Opera House
  • 11/25 — Pittsburgh, PA — Mr Smalls Theatre
  • 11/26 — Detroit, MI — St. Andrews Hall
  • 11/27 — Columbus, OH — The King of Clubs
  • 11/29 — Cleveland, OH — Beachland Ballroom
  • 11/30 — Chicago, IL — Bottom Lounge
  • 12/2 — Milwaukee, WI — The Miramar Theater
  • 12/3 — Minneapolis, MN — Amsterdam


TPIY dropped their fifth album Swan Song last year via Fearless Records. The album is available here. After racking up over 100 million streams and receiving praise from Billboard, Rock Sound, Alternative Press, and more, The Plot In You crafted an album that addresses the end of various things and situations in life. It was a way for the members to expunge some negative things from their lives through their art. With this record, the band stared down years of negativity, soured friendships, disappointment, and mistakes and catalyzed those experiences into hammering distortion, towering melodies, epic production, and unapologetically cathartic lyrics. It's an album that their fans and beyond will intimately and instantly relate to.

Featured Videos

The Faceless
I See Stars
Motionless In White ~ The Graveyard Shift Tour
Between The Buried And Me
Avenged Sevenfold